Board of Governors

The Board of Governors has a unique structure. Each member academy appoints two governors. These six governors then appoint two additional governors from the general public. The remaining four governors are proposed to the Board by the federal Minister of Industry, but are formally appointed by the Board.

Margaret Bloodworth, C.M., Chair Former federal Deputy Minister and National Security Advisor (Ottawa, ON)

Graham Bell, FRSC

Research Director, James McGill Professor Chair, Department of Biology, McGill University (Montréal, QC)

John Cairns, FCAHS

Professor of Medicine, University of British Columbia (Vancouver, BC)

Henry Friesen, C.C., FRSC, FCAHS 

Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Centre for the Advancement of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University of Manitoba (Winnipeg, MB)

Carol P. Herbert, FCAHS

Professor of Family Medicine, Western University (London, ON)

Claude Jean

Executive Vice President and General Manager, Foundry Operation, Semiconductor, Teledyne DALSA (Bromont, QC)

Peter MacKinnon, O.C. Former President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Saskatchewan (Saskatoon, SK)

Jeremy McNeil, FRSC

Helen Battle Professor of Chemical Ecology, Department of Biology, Western University (London, ON)

Axel Meisen C.M., FCAE

Former Chair of Foresight at Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures (AITF)  (Edmonton, AB)

Lydia Miljan Associate Professor of Political Science and Chair of the Arts and Science program, University of Windsor (Windsor, ON)
Ted Morton Executive Fellow at the School of Public Policy, Professor of Political Science, University of Calgary (Calgary, AB)

P. Kim Sturgess, FCAE

CEO and founder, Alberta WaterSMART (Calgary, AB)

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Council Feature

RISK: Is the Message Getting Through?

Anything you put in your body — whether it’s a prescription drug, a vaccine, implant, or a natural health pr...
read more