Expert Panel on Medical Assistance in Dying

Marie Deschamps, C.C., Ad. E. (Chair of the Expert Panel)
Former Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada and Adjunct Professor, McGill University (Montréal, QC) and Université de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke, QC)
Dawn Davies
Working Group Chair
Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics, University of Ottawa; Palliative Care Physician, Roger Neilson House/Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa, ON)

Gail Beck, O.O.
Clinical Director, Youth Psychiatry Program, The Royal (Ottawa, ON)

Carrie Bourassa
Chair, Northern and Indigenous Health and Senior Scientist, Health Sciences North Research Institute (Sudbury, ON)

Franco A. Carnevale
Professor, McGill University (Montréal, QC)

Joanna Chung
Medical Psychology, Division of Hematology/Oncology/Bone Marrow Transplant, BC Children’s Hospital (Vancouver, BC)

Joan Gilmour
Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University (Toronto, ON)

Stephen Goudge, Q.C., O.O.
Counsel, Paliare Roland (Toronto, ON)

Mary Ellen Macdonald
Associate Professor, McGill University (Montréal, QC)

Jean-Pierre Ménard, Ad. E
Lawyer, Ménard, Martin, Avocats (Montréal, QC)

Cheryl Milne
Executive Director, David Asper Centre for Constitutional Rights, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto (Toronto, ON)

Ubaka Ogbogu
Assistant Professor, University of Alberta (Edmonton, AB)

Bryan Salte
Associate Registrar and Legal Counsel, College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan (Saskatoon, SK)

Kimberley Widger
Assistant Professor, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, University of Toronto (Toronto, ON)

Randi Zlotnik Shaul
Director, Department of Bioethics, The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto, ON)
Jennifer L. Gibson
Working Group Chair
Sun Life Financial Chair in Bioethics; Director of the University of Toronto Joint Centre for Bioethics; Associate Professor of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation and Clinical Public Health, Dalla Lana School of Public Health; and Director of the World Health Organization Collaborating Centre for Bioethics, University of Toronto (Toronto, ON)

Benjamin L. Berger
Professor and Associate Dean (Students), Osgoode Hall Law School, York University, (Toronto, ON)

Martha Donnelly
Geriatric Psychiatrist, Associate Professor Emeritus, Department of Psychiatry, University of British Columbia (Vancouver, BC) 

Alika Lafontaine

Northern Medical Lead (Aboriginal Health), Alberta Health Services; Assistant Clinical Professor, University of Alberta; Collaborative Team Lead, Indigenous Health Alliance (Grand Prairie, AB)

Trudo Lemmens
Professor and Scholl Chair of Health Law and Policy, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto (Toronto, ON)

Susan MacDonald
Associate Professor, Medicine and Family Medicine, Memorial University of Newfoundland (St. John's, NL)

Sheila A.M. McLean
Emeritus Professor, Glasgow University (Glasgow, Scotland)

Dorothy Pringle, O.C., FCAHS
Professor Emeritus, University of Toronto (Toronto, ON) 

Patricia (Paddy) Rodney
Associate Professor, School of Nursing, and Faculty Associate, W. Maurice Young Centre for Applied Ethics, University of British Columbia; Research Associate, Providence Health Care Ethics Services (Vancouver, BC)

Harvey Schipper
Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto (Toronto, ON)

Samir Sinha
Director of Geriatrics, Sinai Health System and University Health Network (Toronto, ON) 

Tim Stainton
Professor, University of British Columbia (Vancouver, BC) 

Ross Upshur
Professor, University of Toronto (Toronto, ON) 

Agnes van der Heide
Researcher, Erasmus MC, University Medical Center Rotterdam (Rotterdam, The Netherlands) 
Kwame McKenzie
Working Group Chair
Director Health Equity, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH); Professor of Psychiatry, University of Toronto; CEO, Wellesley Institute (Toronto, ON)

Melissa K. Andrew
Associate Professor of Medicine (Geriatrics), Dalhousie University and Nova Scotia Health Authority (Halifax, NS) 

Yves Beauchamp, C.Q., FCAE
Vice-Principal Administration and Finance, McGill University (Montréal, QC) 

Jennifer A. Chandler
Bertram Loeb Research Chair, Full Professor, Centre for Health Law, Policy and Ethics, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa (Ottawa, ON) 

Pierre Deschamps, C.M.
Member of Research Group on Health and Law, McGill University (Montréal, QC)

Jocelyn Downie, C.M., FRSC, FCAHS
University Research Professor, Faculties of Law and Medicine, Dalhousie University (Halifax, NS) 

Martin Drapeau, O.Q.
Professor, McGill University (Montréal, QC) 

Colleen M. Flood, FRSC
Director, Centre for Health Law Policy and Ethics, Professor and Research Chair in Health Law, University of Ottawa (Ottawa, ON)

Arthur W. Frank, FRSC
Professor Emeritus, University of Calgary (retired) (Calgary, AB) 

K. Sonu Gaind
Associate Professor, University of Toronto (Toronto, ON) 

Mona Gupta
Associate Professor and Psychiatrist, Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM), Université de Montréal (Montréal,  QC)

Scott Y.H. Kim
Senior Investigator, National Institutes of Health (Bethesda, MD)

Brian L. Mishara
Director, Centre for Research and Intervention on Suicide, Ethical Issues, and End-of-Life Practices (CRISE), Université du Québec à Montréal (Montréal, QC) 

Tanya Park
Assistant Professor, Faculty of Nursing, University of Alberta (Edmonton, AB) 

Suzanne Stewart
Director, Waakebiness-​Bryce Institute for Indigenous Health, University of Toronto (Toronto, ON)


Joanna Chung*

Psychologist, Oncology / Hematology / Bone Marrow Transplants, BC Children’s Hospital (Vancouver, BC) 

 [AH1]Has accepted; no bio or affiliation submitted as of yet 

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information