What's New

January 28, 2016

OTTAWA (January 28, 2016) - The Council of Canadian Academies is pleased to announce the appointment of two new members to its Board of Governors: Maryse Lassonde and Linda Rabeneck. The Board is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the Council, including fulfillment of its mandate and oversight of its operations.

Maryse Lassonde, O.C., O.Q., FRSC, FCAHS, is the Scientific Director of the Quebec Natural Sciences and Technology Granting Agency, and President of the Royal Society of Canada. Read her full bio here

Linda Rabeneck, FCAHS, is a gastroenterologist and clinician scientist who is Vice President, Prevention and Cancer Control at Cancer Care Ontario. Read her full bio here.

The Council would like to thank two valued members of the Board whose terms have come to an end: Graham Bell, FRSC, Research Director, James McGill Professor Chair, Department of Biology, McGill University, and John Cairns, FCAHS, Professor of Medicine, University of British Columbia.

"We would like to extend a warm welcome to our two new board members, Maryse Lassonde and Linda Rabeneck," said Margaret Bloodworth, C.M., Chair of the Board. "We are very pleased with their appointments and eager to embrace their experience and expertise. They are joining the Council at an especially exciting time in its history. On behalf of the Council and the Board, I would also like to recognize the time and invaluable contributions made by exiting members John Cairns and Graham Bell." 

The Council's Board of Governors has a unique structure. Each member academy appoints two governors. These six governors then appoint two additional governors from the general public. The remaining four governors are proposed by the federal Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development, but are formally appointed by the board.

A full list of the Council's Board of Governors, and their biographies, can be found on the Council's website.

View All News

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Council Feature

Expert Spotlight: Max Blouw

Dr. Max Blouw is Former President and Vice-Chancellor of Wilfrid Laurier University (WLU). Prior to joining WLU, he was...
read more