What's New

June 1, 2017

The Council of Canadian Academies (CCA) is pleased to announce the appointment of three new members to its Board of Governors: David Dodge, O.C., FRSC; Jawahar (Jay) Kalra, MD, FCAHS; and Bartha Maria Knoppers, O.C., O.Q., FRSC, FCAHS.

David Dodge, O.C., FRSC, is Senior Advisor at Bennett Jones LLP. He also serves on the board of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, and Chairs the National Council of the C.D. Howe Institute. He served as Governor of the Bank of Canada from 2001 to 2008. Mr. Dodge was Chair of the CCA's Expert Panel on STEM Skills for the Future.

Jawahar (Jay) Kalra, MD, FCAHS, is a Professor in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine in the College of Medicine, at the University of Saskatchewan, and served as Department Head of Pathology and Department Head of Laboratory Medicine in the Saskatoon Health Region.

Bartha Maria Knoppers,O.C., O.Q., FRSC, FCAHS, is a Full Professor and Director of the Centre of Genomics and Policy, Faculty of Medicine, Human Genetics, McGill University. She holds the Canada Research Chair in Law and Medicine. Dr. Knoppers was a member of the CCA's Expert Panel on Timely Access to Health and Social Data for Health Research and Health System Innovation.

"We are delighted to welcome three distinguished new members to our Board," said Margaret Bloodworth, C.M., Chair of the Board. "Drs. Dodge, Kalra, and Knoppers are esteemed leaders in their respective fields. We look forward to drawing on their unique perspectives and expertise as members of the Board."

These three candidates were nominated by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) after a call for nominations in the fall of 2016.

With the appointment of Drs. Dodge, Kalra and Knoppers, the CCA Board now stands at 12 governors, each of whom are appointed through a specific process. Each of the CCA's three member academies -- the Royal Society of Canada, the Canadian Academy of Engineering, and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences -- nominates two governors. These six governors nominate two additional governors from the general public, and the remaining four governors are nominated by the federal Minister of Science, recommended by the Board, and approved by the Members. The Board is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the CCA, including fulfillment of its mandate and oversight of its operations.

A full list of the Board of Governors, and their biographies, can be found on the CCA's website.

View All News

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Council Feature

Expert Spotlight: Max Blouw

Dr. Max Blouw is Former President and Vice-Chancellor of Wilfrid Laurier University (WLU). Prior to joining WLU, he was...
read more