Around the Council


(Olena Luskutova and Hariyanto Darmawan)The Council extends a warm welcome to three new staff members: Stefan Jungcurt, a new Research Associate; Elizabeth Roosien joining us as a new Program Coordinator; and Andrea Hopkins who also comes on board as a Program Coordinator.

The Council welcomes two new interns: Olena Loskutova and Hariyanto Darmawan, whose six-month internships began in July 2011.



The Council would like to extend warm congratulations to the following staff and expert volunteers for their recent accomplishments:

  • John D. McLaughlin, a member of the Council’s Board of Directors, was recently appointed to the Order of Canada. Recognized for “his contributions to cultivating innovative public policy discussions in New Brunswick and for his leadership as president of the niversity of New Brunswick.”
  • Norbert R. Morgenstern, a member of the Council’s Scientific Advisory Council, received the 2011 H. Bolton Seed Medal from the American Society of Civil Engineers. The medal was awarded for exceptional contributions and outstanding productivity in education, research and consulting that have profoundly enhanced the engineering practice in slope stability and dam design.
  • Sarah Otto, a member of the Expert Panel on Biodiversity Science, has been awarded a $500,000 grant from the MacArthur Foundation. All 22 of the 2011 MacArthur Fellows were selected “for their creativity, originality, and potential to make important contributions in the future.”
  • Max Blouw, a member of the Expert Panel on Science Performance and Research Funding, was appointed to a second five-year term as President and Vice-chancellor of Wilfrid Laurier University.
  • Alastair Cribb, chair of the Expert Panel on Animal Health Risk Assessment, was recently reappointed for another five-year term as Dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Calgary;
  • Michael Hayden, a member of the Expert Panel on Canada’s Strategic Role in Global Health for CAHS, received the 2011 Canada Gairdner Wightman Award. The award is given to a Canadian who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in medicine and medical science.
  • Peter Singer, Chair of the Expert Panel on Canada’s Strategic Role in Global Health for CAHS, for his appointment to the Order of Canada for his contributions to health research and bioethics, and for his dedication to improving the health of people in developing countries.
  • E. William (Bill) Colglazier, who sat on the Council’s five year external evaluation panel, and is a retired executive officer of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Research Council, has been selected to be the new Science and Technology Adviser to Secretary of State Hillary Clinton. 
  • Kori St. Cyr, a Research Associate with the Council, was recently selected to attend a forum for young professionals held at United Nations Education Science Cultural Organization (UNESCO) headquarters in Paris, France.   

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Council Feature

Food Security in Northern Canada

It is well established that in northern Canada food insecurity is a serious problem that affects the health and wellness...
read more