Healthy Animals, Healthy Canada

Animal health has a direct impact on the health of Canadians, the economy and the environment. The majority of emerging diseases in humans have their origin in the animal kingdom.1 Economic losses related to animal health events include reduced trade flows, lost incomes for farm families and fewer jobs in agricultural industries. Environmental consequences include the disruption of domestic ecological systems.

Applying the proper risk assessment techniques, based on scientific knowledge and international best practices, can help to mitigate these and other negative impacts of animal health events.

In 2009, the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food, on behalf of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), asked the Council of Canadian Academies to assemble an Expert Panel to assess the state and comprehensiveness of risk assessment techniques in animal health science, specifically pertaining to risks which may impact human health. 

 Darrell Donahue and David C. Hall, members of the Expert Panel on Approaches to Animal Health Risk Assessment, present at the annual meeting of the Society for Risk Analysis in Charleston, South Carolina in December 2011.

After examining the evidence, the Expert Panel determined that animal health risk assessment in Canada is built on a solid foundation of knowledge and expertise; however, risk assessment practices can be enhanced.

The Panel also found that in order for Canada to stay at the forefront of animal health risk assessment there are numerous activities that can be improved such as: strengthening expertise and knowledge capacity; considering a broader range of consequences related to an animal health event; improving communication among risk assessors, managers and stakeholders; enhancing the transparency of the decision-making process; and setting aside resources for foresight assessments.

Formally released on September 22, 2011, at the University of Calgary’s Spy Hill Campus, the Chair of the Expert Panel, Dr. Alastair Cribb, Professor and Dean, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Calgary, along with three other members of the expert panel, presented the report’s findings to a diverse audience of stakeholders.

To inquire about hard copies of the report, contact Tracey McKinlay, Project Office Coordinator at tracey.mckinlay@scienceadvice.ca.

Assessment Question

What is the state and comprehensiveness of risk assessment techniques in animal health science, specifically pertaining to risks that may impact on human health?

 

Report and supplementary materials

Expert Panel membership

The Expert Panel on Approaches to Animal Health Risk Assessment first convened in July 2009 and is chaired by Dr. Alastair Cribb, FCAHS, Professor and Dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Calgary. For a complete list of panel members visit the Expert Panel on Approaches to Animal Health Risk Assessment Membership page.

Images

Dr. Alastair Cribb, Chair of the Expert Panel
>Download hi-res

Cow at Canadian farm
>Download hi-res          

 

For further information, please contact:

Cate Meechan, Director of Communications, at 613-567-5000 ext. 228 or cathleen.meechan@scienceadvice.ca.

 


 

1 L.H. Taylor, S.M. Latham, and M.E. Woolhouse, “Risk Factors for Human Disease Emergence,” Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London. Series B, Biological Sciences (2001), p. 983, available: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1088493/pdf/TB010983.pdf.

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

 

 


RISKcom.ca
An internet-based information resource about health risks to individuals.

Des animaux en santé, un Canada en santé

La santé animale influe directement sur la santé des Canadiens, l’économie et l’environnement. La majorité des nouvelles maladies qui affectent les humains tirent leur origine du règne animal.1  Les pertes économiques liées à des maladies animales comprennent la diminution du commerce, des pertes de revenus pour les agriculteurs et leur famille, ainsi que des pertes d’emploi dans l’industrie agroalimentaire. Les conséquences environnementales vont de la perte de populations animales autochtones à la perturbation d’écosystèmes du pays.

Le recours à des techniques appropriées d’évaluation des risques, fondées sur des connaissances scientifiques et des pratiques exemplaires à l’échelle internationale, peut contribuer à atténuer ces conséquences et d’autres effets négatifs des maladies animales.

En 2009, le ministre de l’Agriculture et de l’Agroalimentaire, au nom de l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA), a demandé au Conseil des académies canadiennes de former un comité d’experts mandaté d’évaluer l’état et l’étendue des techniques d’évaluation des risques dans le domaine des sciences de la santé des animaux, concernant particulièrement les risques pouvant affecter la santé humaine.

Darrell Donahue et David C. Hall, membres du Comité d’experts sur les approches d’évaluation des risques, étaient présents à la réunion annuelle de la Society for Risk Analysis à Charleston, en Caroline du Sud en décembre 2011.

À la suite d’un examen approfondi des preuves, le comité d’experts en est venu à la conclusion qu’au Canada, l’évaluation des risques pour la santé des animaux repose sur une solide base de connaissance et d’expertise. Toutefois, un certain nombre de pratiques pourraient être améliorées.

Le comité d’experts estime aussi que si le Canada veut rester à la fine pointe de l’évaluation des risques pour la santé des animaux, de nombreuses opérations doivent être améliorées, notamment : consolider les capacités sur le plan de l’expertise et de la connaissance; prendre en considération une gamme plus importante de conséquences d’événements liés à la santé des animaux; améliorer la communication entre les évaluateurs des risques, les gestionnaires et les parties prenantes; assurer une plus grande transparence du processus de prise de décision; et mettre de côté des ressources en prévision d’évaluations futures.

Lancé officiellement le 22 septembre 2011 sur le campus Spyhill de l’Université de Calgary, le président du comité d’experts, Alastair Cribb, professeur et doyen de la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l’Université de Calgary, en compagnie de trois autres membres du comité d’experts, a présenté les principales constatations du rapport à une assemblée de parties prenantes.

Question de l’évaluation   

Quels sont l’état et l’étendue des connaissances des techniques d’évaluation du risque de la santé des animaux, concernant particulièrement les risques pouvant affecter la santé humaine?  

Rapport et documents à l’appui

Membres du comité d’experts

Le comité d’experts sur les approches d’évaluation des risques pour la santé des animaux s’est réuni pour la première fois en juillet 2009. Il est présidé par Alastair Cribb, Ph.D., MACSS, professeur et doyen de la faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l’Université de Calgary. La page Le comité d’experts sur les approches d’évaluation des risques pour la santé des animaux donne la liste des membres du comité.

Pour plus de renseignements, ou pour les médias sociaux, veuillez communiquer avec :

Samantha Rae Ayoub, directrice des communications et des publications, au 613 567-5000 poste 256 ou samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

 


 

1 L.H. Taylor, S.M. Latham, and M.E. Woolhouse, “Risk Factors for Human Disease Emergence,” Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London. Series B, Biological Sciences (2001), p. 983, available: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1088493/pdf/TB010983.pdf.

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire