Canadian Taxonomy: Exploring Biodiversity, Creating Opportunity

The diversity of life on earth is an irreplaceable natural heritage.  It is being lost in Canada and around the world at a rate unprecedented in human history with massive consequences for the biosphere, the economy, and human well-being.  Taxonomy is the science that discovers, distinguishes, classifies and documents living things.  As such, it is the foundation of biodiversity research and essential to understanding the world around us.  Canada has a proud history of world class contributions to taxonomic research but today critical gaps exist within the Canadian system.

The Minister of Canadian Heritage on behalf of the Canadian Museum of Nature asked the Council of Canadian Academies to assemble an Expert Panel to conduct an independent assessment of: the state and trends of biodiversity science in Canada.  The charge had a specific focus on taxonomy.

      

Thomas E. Lovejoy via video at the Canadian Museum of Nature (left) and Council President Elizabeth Dowdeswell with the report (right), November 18th 2010.


Understanding the State and Trends of Canadian Taxonomy

The Expert Panel on Biodiversity Science developed an evidence-based report, Canadian Taxonomy: Exploring Biodiversity, Creating Opportunity, it explores the state of Canadian taxonomy in three areas: taxonomic expertise, the state of biodiversity collections, and Canada’s strength in data sharing.  After examining the evidence in each of these areas the Expert Panel concluded that Canada is not yet equipped to fully understand the challenges of its biodiversity resources.

Taxonomic Expertise: Canada continues to have world class researchers and strong student interest in taxonomy; but students are trained in an increasingly small number of labs, leading to a loss of breadth in taxonomic expertise.  Job openings in taxonomy have virtually ceased and research funding is stagnant.  Canada’s international contribution to new species descriptions has fallen from 6th in the 1980s to 14th in the 2000s.   

Biodiversity Collections: There are over 50 million specimens in Canadian collections, worth a conservative estimated value of over a quarter of a billion dollars.  Conditions under which specimens are stored vary considerably.  Many collections are stored in aging facilities and there is little room for growth.  Collections are managed under an array of different organizational schemes, with no national collections strategy or standards.

Data Sharing: Canada has impressive specimen collections and a strong digital infrastructure. However, most of the information about Canadian biodiversity is trapped in cabinets rather than accessible on the internet. Canada compares poorly internationally in digitization and sharing of data on online databases; approximately 80 per cent of Canada’s online biodiversity information is being held outside of Canada. 

These are just a few of the many observations about Canadian taxonomy that can be found in the Expert Panel’s report.

The report was publicly launched on November 18th, 2010 at the Canadian Museum of Nature’s Arctic Biodiversity Symposium. To inquire about hard copies of the report, contact Tracey McKinlay, Project Office Coordinator at tracey.mckinlay@scienceadvice.ca


Assessment Question

What are the state and trends of biodiversity science in Canada? Are we equipped to understand the challenges of our biodiversity resources?

Sub-questions:

1. Do molecular techniques truly supplant traditional taxonomy, or do they create opportunities to focus effort?

2. What is required to supplement traditional taxonomy?

3. In light of what is globally required in biodiversity research, what does Canada need to do?

4. What are the gaps between what Canada needs to do and Canada's existing capabilities?

 

Reports and related publications

 

Expert Panel membership

The Expert Panel on Biodiversity Science first convened in November 2009 and is chaired by Dr. Thomas Lovejoy, Biodiversity Chair, Heinz Center for Science, Economics and the Environment in Washington, D.C. For a complete list of panel members visit the Expert Panel on Biodiversity Science Membership page.

 

For further information, please contact:

Tracey McKinlay, Coordinator, Project Office at 613-567-5000 ext 260 or tracey.mckinlay@scienceadvice.ca.

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

PDF

                                                       

Links of interest:

La taxonomie canadienne : explorer la biodiversité, créer des possibilités

La diversité de la vie sur Terre est un patrimoine naturel irremplaçable. Nonobstant, elle se perd, tant au Canada qu’ailleurs au monde, à un taux sans précédent dans l’histoire de l’humanité. Cela entraîne des conséquences majeures pour la biosphère, l’économie et le bien-être humain. La taxonomie est la science qui découvre, différencie, classifie et documente les êtres vivants. Elle est donc, à ce titre, le fondement de la recherche en biodiversité et est essentielle à la compréhension du monde qui nous entoure. Le Canada peut être fier de ses contributions passées – de calibre mondial – à la recherche taxonomique. Mais aujourd’hui, le système canadien présente d’importantes lacunes.

Le ministre du Patrimoine canadien, au nom du Musée canadien de la nature, a demandé au Conseil des académies canadiennes de mettre sur pied un comité d’experts chargé de mener à bien une évaluation indépendante de l’état et des tendances des sciences de la biodiversité au Canada. Le mandat portait plus particulièrement sur la taxonomie.

  

 Thomas E. Lovejoy en vidéoconférence au Musée canadien de la nature (à gauche) en compagnie de  la présidente du Conseil des académies canadiennes, Elizabeth Dowdeswell, qui tient le rapport (à droite), le 18 novembre 2010.

Comprendre l’état et les tendances de la taxonomie canadienne

Le comité d’experts sur les sciences de la biodiversité a réalisé un rapport fondé sur les données probautes intitulé La taxonomie canadienne : explorer la biodiversité, créer des possibilités, qui explore l’état de la taxonomie canadienne dans trois domaines clés : l’expertise taxonomique, l’état des collections et la capacité du Canada en matière de partage des données. Après avoir passé en revue les données liées à chacun de ces domaines, le comité d’experts a conclu que le Canada n’est pas encore outillé pour pleinement comprendre les défis que présentent ses ressources en biodiversité.

Expertise taxonomique :
Au Canada, il y a encore des chercheurs de calibre mondial ainsi qu’un intérêt marqué pour la taxonomie parmi les étudiants. Or, les étudiants sont formés dans un nombre de plus en plus restreint de laboratoires, ce qui réduit l’étendue de l’expertise taxonomique. Les ouvertures de postes en taxonomie se font de plus en plus rares et les fonds de recherche stagnent. Les contributions internationales du Canada aux nouvelles descriptions d’espèces ont passé du 6e rang, dans les années 1980, au 14e rang dans les années 2000.

Les collections de biodiversité :
Les collections canadiennes comptent plus 50 millions de spécimens dont la valeur est évaluée, au bas mot, à plus de 250 millions de dollars. Les conditions d’entreposage des spécimens varient considérablement. Plusieurs collections sont entreposées dans des installations vieillissantes qu’il serait difficile d’agrandir. Les collections sont gérées en vertu de différentes structures organisationnelles. En outre, il n’existe pas de stratégie ou de normes nationales régissant les collections.

Partage des données :
Bien que le Canada dispose d’impressionnantes collections de spécimens et d’une infrastructure numérique robuste, la plupart des renseignements sont enfermés dans des placards plutôt que d’être accessibles en ligne. Le Canada fait piètre figure à l’échelle mondiale sur le plan de la numérisation et du partage des bases de données en ligne. De plus, environ 80 % des informations en ligne portant sur la biodiversité proviennent de sources situées à l’extérieur du Canada.

Voilà quelques-unes des nombreuses constatations tirées du rapport du comité d’experts sur la taxonomie canadienne.

Le rapport a été lancé le 18 novembre 2010 au Symposium de la biodiversité arctique au Musée canadien de la nature. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Question de l’évaluation

Quelles sont l’état et les tendances de la biodiversité au Canada : sommes-nous outillés pour comprendre les défis que présentent nos ressources en biodiversité?

Sous-questions:

1. Les techniques moléculaires supplantent-elles réellement la taxonomie traditionnelle, ou permettent-elles de mieux concentrer les efforts?

2. Que faut-il pour compléter la taxonomie traditionnelle?

3. À la lumière de ce qu’exige le domaine de la recherche en biodiversité, que doit faire le Canada?

4. Quelles sont les lacunes entre ce que le Canada doit faire et ses capacités actuelles?

 

Rapports et publications connexes

La taxonomie canadienne : explorer la biodiversité, créer des possibilités (version intégrale)

Points saillants du rapport (version abrégée)

Appendices

Avis aux médias

Communiqué

Fiche d’information médias

Membres du comité d’experts

Le comité d’experts sur les sciences de la biodiversité s’est réuni pour la première fois en novembre 2009. Il est présidé par Thomas E. Lovejoy, Ph.D., titulaire de la chaire de recherche en biodiversité du Heinz Center for Science, Economics and the Environment, à Washington, D.C. La page Le comité d’experts sur les sciences de la biodiversité donne la liste des membres du comité.

Pour plus de renseignements, ou pour les médias sociaux, veuillez communiquer avec :

Samantha Rae Ayoub, directrice des communications et des publications, au 613 567-5000 poste 256 ou samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire