Energy Prices and Business Decision-Making in Canada: Preparing for the Energy Future

Canada has abundant energy sources, from vast oil sands to ample hydroelectric capacity, offshore oil, natural gas, and coal. Given this energy-rich environment, Canada has relatively low energy prices and an energy-intensive industrial structure with the business sector accounting for about three-quarters of total energy demand. However, energy prices are rising overall and Canadian businesses have faced price volatility for quite some time. Adding to the challenge of price volatility is the increasingly complex nature of the energy environment as a whole. Advances in oil and gas extraction, alternative energy sources, Canadian electricity prices, regulations, and new technological developments will all have an effect on the energy environment and the strategies undertaken by Canadian businesses.

To more fully understand the effects of the energy environment on Canadian business decision-making, the Minister of Industry, on behalf of Industry Canada, asked the Council of Canadian Academies to assess the opportunities and risks to Canada related to the potential for sustained higher energy prices.

Energy Prices and Business Decision-Making in Canada: Preparing for the Energy Future provides a comprehensive overview of how Canadian businesses have adapted to rising and increasingly volatile energy prices, and explores ways in which businesses can enhance their resilience. Most notably, the report presents the results of a new survey on business decision-making, which was administered to more than 1,000 Canadian firms, as well as sector profiles that assess the past resiliency of the Canadian industries most exposed to energy prices (i.e., the energy intensive resource-based, manufacturing, and transport sectors; the capital intensive oil and gas, mining, and electric power sectors; and the transport equipment sector).  Overall, the report serves as the most up-to-date resource for Canadian businesses and policy-makers as they seek to understand the implications of the complex and uncertain energy future and what it means for Canada’s economic prosperity.

Key Findings

  • Exposure to energy prices varies by sector. A firm’s strategy depends on whether it is energy intensive, capital intensive, or produces energy-intensive products.
  • Firms have successfully adapted to energy price changes in the past, but there is no guarantee that this resilience will continue into the future.
  • Despite higher global energy prices, it is unlikely the competitiveness of Canadian firms will be strongly impacted.
  • A majority of firms (66%) reported that controlling energy costs was important for competitiveness.
  • Increased preparedness in exposed sectors would mean greater resilience and better adaptation should energy prices change. 

Question

What are the opportunities and risks to Canada related to the potential for sustained higher energy prices?

Report and Related Products:

Expert Panel

The Expert Panel on Canadian Industry’s Competitiveness in Terms of Energy Use was chaired by Dr. Fred Gorbet, O.C.. For a complete list of panel members visit the Expert Panel on Canadian Industry’s Competitiveness in Terms of Energy Use page.

For further information, please contact:

Joe Rowsell, Research Associate at 613-567-5000 ext. 253 or joe.rowsell@scienceadvice.ca

For media inquiries, please contact:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Communications and Publishing Director, at 613-567-5000 ext. 256 or samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

DOWNLOAD THE REPORT

Prix de l’énergie et prise de décision dans les entreprises au Canada : Paver la voir à un avenir énergétique

Le Canada possède d’abondantes sources d’énergie, allant des vastes étendues de sables bitumineux à une importante capacité hydroélectrique, au pétrole au large des côtes, au gaz naturel et au charbon. Dans cet environnement riche en énergie, le Canada jouit de prix de l’énergie relativement bas et possède une structure industrielle à forte intensité énergétique, le secteur des entreprises comptant pour environ les trois quarts de la demande totale d’énergie. Cependant, les prix de l’énergie augmentent dans l’ensemble et les entreprises canadiennes ont fait face à des fluctuations de prix depuis déjà un certain temps. Outre le défi de la volatilité des prix, la nature du contexte énergétique devient de plus en plus complexe. Les progrès réalisés dans l’extraction du pétrole et du gaz, les sources d’énergie de remplacement, la tarification de l’électricité au Canada, la réglementation et les derniers progrès technologiques auront tous une incidence sur l’univers énergétique et les stratégies mises en œuvre par les entreprises canadiennes.

Afin de mieux comprendre les effets d’un contexte énergétique incertain sur les décisions des entreprises canadiennes, le ministre de l’Industrie, au nom d’Industrie Canada, a demandé au Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC) d’évaluer les occasions et les risques pour le Canada d’une augmentation prolongée potentielle des prix de l’énergie.

Prix de l’énergie et prise de décision dans les entreprises au Canada : Paver la voie à un avenir énergétique présente un aperçu détaillé de la manière dont les entreprises canadiennes se sont adaptées à la hausse et à l’instabilité croissante des prix de l’énergie, et il explore des façons dont les entreprises pourraient améliorer leur résilience. Notamment, le rapport présente les résultats d’une nouvelle enquête sur la prise de décision dans les entreprises, qui a été menée auprès de plus de 1000 entreprises canadiennes, ainsi que des profils sectoriels qui évaluent la résilience passée des industries canadiennes les plus exposées aux prix énergétiques (c.-à-d. les secteurs à forte intensité énergétique des ressources, de la fabrication et des transports; les secteurs à forte intensité en capital du pétrole et du gaz, de l’extraction minière et de la production d’électricité; et le secteur du matériel de transport). Globalement, le rapport représente la ressource la plus à jour pour les entreprises et les décideurs canadiens qui souhaitent comprendre les conséquences d’un avenir énergétique complexe et incertain, et ce qu’il signifie pour la prospérité économique du Canada.

Principales constatations

  • L’exposition aux prix de l’énergie varie par secteur. La stratégie d’une entreprise dépend du fait qu’elle a une forte intensité énergétique ou une forte intensité en capital, ou qu’elle produit des biens à forte intensité énergétique.
  • Les entreprises se sont adaptées avec succès aux changements des prix de l’énergie dans le passé, mais il n’y a aucune garantie que cette résilience se maintiendra dans l’avenir.
  • Malgré la hausse des prix mondiaux de l’énergie, il est peu probable que la compétitivité des entreprises canadiennes soit fortement touchée.
  • La majorité des entreprises (66 %) ont indiqué que la maîtrise des coûts en énergie était importante pour sur le plan de la compétitivité.
  • Une meilleure préparation des secteurs exposés se traduirait par une plus grande résilience et une meilleure adaptation si les prix de l’énergie venaient à changer.

Question

Quels sont les occasions et les risques pour le Canada d’une augmentation prolongée potentielle des prix énergétiques?

Rapport et produits connexes

Comité d’experts

Le comité d’experts sur la compétitivité de l’industrie canadienne au regard de l’utilisation de l’énergie était présidé par M. Fred Gorbet, O.C. La liste complète des membres du comité d’experts se trouve sur la page Comité d’experts sur la compétitivité de l’industrie canadienne au regard de l’utilisation de l’énergie.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Joe Rowsell, associé de recherche, au 613-567-5000, poste 253, ou à joe.rowsell@scienceadvice.ca

Médias sociaux, prière de s’adresser à :

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Directrice des communications et des publications, au 613 567-5000, poste 256 ou au samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire

Téléchargez ce rapport