Bill Waiser, SOM, FRSC

Professor of History and A.S. Morton Distinguished Research Chair, University of Saskatchewan (Saskatoon, SK)

Bill Waiser is a specialist in western and northern Canadian history. He joined the University of Saskatchewan’s faculty in 1984 and has served as head of the Department of History and as Graduate Director. Prior to his faculty appointment, he held the position of Yukon Historian for the Canadian Parks Service.

Prof. Waiser has published over a dozen books, many of which won or were short-listed for awards. Loyal till Death: Indians and the North-West Rebellion was a finalist for the 1997 Governor General’s literary award for non-fiction. All Hell Can’t Stop Us: The On-to-Ottawa Trek and Regina Riot won the 2003 Saskatchewan Book Award for non-fiction. His most recent book, Tommy’s Team: The People behind the Douglas Years, was short-listed for the Canadian Authors Association Best Book in Canadian History in 2011. He is perhaps best known for his centennial history of the province, Saskatchewan: A New History, named by the Globe and Mail as one of the best books of 2005.

Prof. Waiser’s professional committee work includes the Canadian Historical Association Council, the Board of Directors of Canada’s National History Society, the Saskatchewan Archives Board, and the Saskatchewan Heritage Foundation. He has been awarded the Saskatchewan Order of Merit, was elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, has been named a distinguished university professor, and was granted a D.Litt. or Doctor of Letters. 

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

Bill Waiser, SOM, FRSC

Professeur d’histoire et chaire de recherche A.S. Morton, Université de la Saskatchewan (Saskatoon, SK)

Bill Waiser est spécialiste en histoire de l’Ouest et du Nord canadien. Il s’est joint au corps professoral de l’Université de la Saskatchewan en 1984 et a occupé les postes de directeur du Département d’histoire et de directeur des études supérieures. Antérieurement, il était historien du Yukon pour Parcs Canada.

Le professeur Waiser a publié plus d’une douzaine de livres, dont plusieurs ont remporté ou ont été en nomination pour des prix. Loyal till Death: Indians and the North-West Rebellion était finaliste pour le Prix littéraire du gouverneur général en 1997 dans la catégorie des essais littéraires. All Hell Can’t Stop Us: The On-to-Ottawa Trek and Regina Riot a remporté en 2003 le Saskatchewan Book Award dans la catégorie des essais littéraires. Son récent ouvrage Tommy’s Team: The People behind the Douglas Years a été en nomination comme Meilleur livre d’histoire canadienne par l’Association des auteurs canadiens en 2011. Il est sans doute surtout connu pour son histoire centenaire de la province, Saskatchewan: A New History, sélectionné par le Globe and Mail comme un des meilleurs livres de 2005.

Il a été membre de plusieurs comités, dont le conseil d’administration de la Société historique du Canada, le conseil d’administration de la Société d’histoire nationale du Canada, le conseil d’administration des Archives de la Saskatchewan et la Fondation du patrimoine de la Saskatchewan. Il a reçu l’Ordre du Mérite de la Saskatchewan, a été élu membre de la Société royale du Canada et a été nommé professeur universitaire émérite. Il est titulaire d’un doctorat ès lettres. 

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire