Technological Prospects for Reducing the Environmental Footprint of Canadian Oil Sands

Canada’s oil sands are an important economic driver and play a growing role in meeting global oil supplies. They contain an estimated 169 billion barrels of bitumen and span an area larger than the three Maritime provinces. As is widely known, they create a significant environmental footprint – one that is forecasted to grow in the decades to come. Addressing the environmental impact is a long-term endeavour and technology will be an important part of the path forward.

In an effort to obtain the latest evidence on the subject, Natural Resources Canada, with support from Environment Canada, asked the Council of Canadian Academies to examine whether new and existing technologies have the ability to significantly reduce the environmental footprint of oil sands development.

Technological Prospects for Reducing the Environmental Footprint of Canadian Oil Sands reviews the environmental footprint of the three main bitumen processing activities (surface mining extraction, in situ extraction, and upgrading), and assessed a range of technologies with the most potential to reduce the environmental impacts on air, water, and land. The Panel then considered the impediments to the adoption of these technologies and estimated their potential to reduce the environmental footprint through to 2030.

Addressing the environmental impact of the oil sands is a long-term endeavour. Technologies implemented over the short- to medium-terms can reduce the footprint on a per barrel basis, however, none can bring absolute reductions. The greatest potential lies with emerging technologies that are longer term research and development prospects.

Key Findings

  • A number of technologies (identified in the report) can help reduce the environmental footprint in all its dimensions in the short term if widely adopted; these are important but insufficient to achieve absolute reductions.
  • An opportunity exists to accelerate the pace of technology development, creating a path to long-term and absolute reductions in the overall environmental footprint of the oil sands. This requires strong leadership, continued investment, and risk-taking by all.
  • Opportunities to reduce GHG emissions lie primarily with in situ operations, a major source for emissions, which could rise by 300% by 2030 under 2014 production forecasts.
  • There is no single “silver bullet” technology that can significantly reduce the volume of tailings and increase their consolidation for reclamation. However, a range of technologies used together may provide options for timely reclamation.
  • Impediments to the accelerated adoption of the most promising technologies relate to the resources used, business decisions, and government policies.

 Question

How could new and existing technologies be used to reduce the environmental footprint of oil sands development on air, water, and land?

Report and Related Products:

Expert Panel

The Expert Panel on the Potential for New and Emerging Technologies to Reduce the Environmental Impacts of Oil Sands Development is co-chaired by Scott Vaughan, President and CEO, International Institute for Sustainable Development, and Eric Newell, O.C., FCAE, A.O.E., Former CEO of Syncrude Canada Ltd., and Chancellor Emeritus and Special Advisor to the Provost at the University of Alberta. For a complete list of panel members visit the Expert Panel on the Potential for New and Emerging Technologies to Reduce the Environmental Impacts of Oil Sands Development page.

For further information, please contact:

Tijs Creutzberg, Director of Assessments at 613-567-5000 ext. 232 or tijs.creutzberg@scienceadvice.ca

For media inquiries, please contact:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Communications and Publishing Director, at 613-567-5000 ext. 256 or samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

DOWNLOAD THE REPORT

Solutions technologiques pour réduire l’empreinte écologique de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux au Canada

Les sables bitumineux sont un important moteur économique au Canada et ils fournissent une part croissante de l’approvisionnement pétrolier mondial. Selon les estimations, ils renferment environ 169 milliards de barils de bitume et couvrent une superficie plus grande que les trois provinces maritimes réunies. Il est largement reconnu qu’ils ont une empreinte écologique importante — laquelle devrait augmenter encore dans les décennies à venir. Réduire leur impact sur l’environnement est une entreprise de longue haleine et la technologie jouera un rôle clé dans la voie à suivre.

Dans le but d’obtenir les données les plus récentes sur la question, Ressources naturelles Canada, avec l’appui d’Environnement Canada, a demandé au Conseil des académies canadiennes d’examiner si des technologies nouvelles ou existantes ont la capacité de réduire sensiblement l’empreinte sur l’environnement de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux.

Solutions technologiques pour réduire l’empreinte écologique de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux au Canada examine l’empreinte écologique des trois principales activités de transformation du bitume (l’extraction minière de surface, l’extraction in situ et la valorisation), et il évalue un éventail de technologies offrant le plus grand potentiel en vue de réduire les effets environnementaux sur l’air, l’eau et le sol. Le comité examine ensuite les obstacles à l’adoption de ces technologies et estime leur potentiel de réduction de l’empreinte écologique jusqu’à 2030.

S’attaquer aux répercussions environnementales des sables bitumineux est une entreprise à long terme. Les technologies déployées à court et à moyen termes peuvent réduire l’empreinte relative (par baril); cependant, aucune ne peut produire de réductions absolues. Le plus grand potentiel réside du côté des technologies émergentes qui s’inscrivent dans une perspective de recherche-développement à plus long terme.

Principales constatations

  • Si elles étaient largement adoptées, un certain nombre de technologies (énumérées dans le rapport) pourraient contribuer à réduire à court terme l’empreinte écologique sous toutes ses dimensions; mais en dépit de leur importance, elles demeurent insuffisantes pour produire des réductions absolues.
  • Il serait possible d’accélérer le rythme de développement de la technologie, ouvrant la voie à une réduction absolue à long terme de l’empreinte écologique globale de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux. Cela nécessitera un solide leadership, des investissements continus et la prise de risques par toutes les parties.
  • Les possibilités de réduction des émissions de GES se situent principalement du côté des opérations in situ, qui sont une importante source d’émissions, susceptible d’augmenter de 300 % d’ici 2030, selon les prévisions de production de 2014.
  • Aucune technologie n’offre de « solution miracle » pour réduire sensiblement le volume de résidus et en accroître la consolidation à des fins de remise en état. Toutefois, l’utilisation combinée d’une gamme de technologies pourrait fournir des possibilités de remise en état à brève échéance.
  • Les obstacles à l’adoption accélérée des technologies les plus prometteuses sont liés aux ressources utilisées, aux décisions des entreprises et aux politiques gouvernementales. 

Question

Comment pourrait-on utiliser les technologies nouvelles et existantes pour diminuer les incidences environnementales de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux sur l’air, l’eau et le sol?

Rapports et autres produits :

Comité d’experts

Le comité d’experts sur la capacité des technologies nouvelles et émergentes de réduire les incidences environnementales de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux était coprésidé par Scott Vaughan, président et chef de la direction, Institut international du développement durable et Eric Newell, O.C., FACG, A.O.E., ancien président-directeur général de Syncrude Canada Ltd. et chancelier émérite et conseiller spécial auprès du doyen, Université de l’Alberta. Pour consulter la liste complète des membres du comité, visitez la page comité d’experts sur la capacité des technologies nouvelles et émergentes de réduire les incidences environnementales de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, prière de s’adresser à :

Tijs Creutzberg, directeur des évaluations au 613 567-5000 poste 232 ou tijs.creutzberg@scienceadvice.ca

Médias sociaux, prière de s’adresser à :

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Directrice des communications et des publications, au 613 567-5000, poste 256 ou au samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire

Téléchargez ce rapport