Better Research for Better Business

Outstanding leadership can make a significant difference in the performance of economies and of societies. In research related to management, business, and finance, the concepts of leadership and management have come to be synonymous. However, while the two are complementary and essential for success, they are different. Building both leadership and management capacity in Canada is essential to ensuring the country has the talent to sustain productivity and a high standard of living.
 
The Government of Canada’s 2007 Budget acknowledged the important role of research in developing business and managerial proficiency, capability and aptitude through funding to the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) for this purpose. SSHRC has in turn, consulted widely with the research community and stakeholders to develop a long-term strategy in this area. As part of this larger effort, SSHRC asked the Council of Canadian Academies to conduct an independent assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of management, business, and finance research in Canada. 

With the publication of its report in May 2009, the Expert Panel on Management, Business, and Finance Research found that the most significant identified weakness in Canadian management, business, and finance research is its lack of explicit relevance and usefulness to potential end users. Insufficient communication between Canadian researchers and business practitioners may reflect this perceived lack of relevance. The panel noted that this absence of contact reduces the likelihood that researchers will be motivated to take up research that is relevant to potential users.  

In January 2010 the Council, in collaboration with SSHRC, hosted a brown bag lunch session to further discuss the Panel’s findings. Panel members David Zussman (Chair), Peter Aucoin, Robert Brooks, Sheila Brown, and John McArthur were in attendance to discuss their work…more…

Assessment question

What are the overall, identifiable, strengths and weaknesses of the university-based research community in the areas of management, business and finance, broadly defined, according to appropriate indicators?

 

Report and supplementary materials

 

Expert Panel membership

The Expert Panel on Management, Business, and Finance Research convened in summer 2008 and was chaired by Dr. David Zussman, Commissioner of the Public Service Commission of Canada.

For a complete list of panel members visit the Expert Panel Management, Business, and Finance Research Membership page.

 

For media inquiries, please contact:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Communications and Publishing Director, at 613-567-5000 ext. 256 or samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

DOWNLOAD THE REPORT

                                                 

Links of interest:

Meilleure recherche = Meilleur management

Un leadership exceptionnel peut influer de manière importante sur la performance des sociétés et des économies. Dans la recherche en management, en gestion des affaires et en finance, les concepts de leadership et de management en sont arrivés à être synonymes. Cependant, même si les deux sont complémentaires et essentiels au succès, ils sont différents. Développer les capacités en leadership et en gestion des entreprises canadiennes est essentiel pour donner au pays les moyens de maintenir sa productivité et la qualité de son niveau de vie.

Dans son budget de 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a reconnu l’importance qu’occupe la recherche dans le développement des entreprises et la maîtrise en matière de gestion, de compétence et d’aptitude, en accordant au Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) une subvention pour la recherche dans ce domaine. À son tour, le CRSH a entrepris de consulter le milieu de la recherche et d’autres intervenants, afin de concevoir une stratégie à long terme dans ce secteur. Dans le cadre de cet effort soutenu, le CRSH a demandé au Conseil des académies canadiennes de mener une évaluation indépendante sur les forces et faiblesses de la recherche en management, en gestion des affaires et en finance au Canada.

Dans son rapport publié en mai 2009, le comité d’experts sur la recherche en management, en gestion des affaires et en finance a conclu que la plus importante faiblesse relevée dans la recherche en management, en gestion des affaires et en finance au Canada est son manque de pertinence et d’utilité pour les utilisateurs potentiels. Le manque de communication entre chercheurs et gens d’affaires au Canada pourrait expliquer le manque de pertinence perçu. Le comité d’experts a noté que cette absence de liens directs réduit la probabilité que les chercheurs soient motivés à étudier des problèmes pertinents pour des utilisateurs potentiels.

En janvier 2010, avec le concours du CRSH, le CAC a organisé une séance du midi pour discuter plus à fond des conclusions du comité d’experts. David Zussman (président), Peter Aucoin, Robert Brooks, Sheila Brown et John McArthur étaient les membres du comité présents pour parler de leurs travaux. more… [this will take you to secondary page 2 – see below]

Question de l’évaluation

Quelles sont, dans l’ensemble, les forces et les faiblesses qu’il est possible de mettre en évidence au sein de la communauté de la recherche universitaire dans le domaine du management, de la gestion des affaires et de la finance, selon une définition générale de ces termes et d’après des indicateurs appropriés?

Rapport et publications connexes

Membres du comité d’experts

Le comité d’experts sur la recherche en management, en gestion des affaires et en finance a été formé à l’été 2008 et a été présidé par David Zussman, Ph.D., commissaire de la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada. La page Le comité d’experts sur la recherche en management, en gestion des affaires et en finance donne la liste des membres du comité.

Pour plus de renseignements, ou pour les médias sociaux, veuillez communiquer avec :

Samantha Rae Ayoub, directrice des communications et des publications, au 613 567-5000 poste 256 ou samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire