Kathleen E. Sendall, C.M., FCAE

Director, CGG (Paris, France); Director of Enmax Corporation (Calgary, AB); Vice Chair, Alberta Innovates – Energy and Environment Solutions (Alberta); Trustee, Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation and Member of the Government of Canada Sustainable Development Advisory Council (SDAC) and the Advisory Council for Promoting Women on Boards (Calgary, AB)

Kathleen Sendall is a Director at CGG, a leading international pure-play geophysical company; a Director of Enmax Corporation, a vertically integrated utility, headquartered in Calgary, Alberta; and Director and Vice Chair of Alberta Innovates - Energy and Environment Solutions. In 2012, she Co-Chaired the Canada West/Asia Pacific Foundation Task Force on Canada/Asia Pacific energy issues and opportunities.

Ms. Sendall was previously the Senior Vice-President of Petro-Canada's North American Natural Gas Business Unit, and was responsible for the company’s conventional oil and gas production and exploration in North America. Ms. Sendall has extensive experience as a director and involvement in not-for-profit boards. She is a Past-President and former Director of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, and a former Chair of the Board of Governors for the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP). She has sat on the Board of Governors of the University of Calgary and is Past-President of the Calgary Chapter of the International Women’s Forum.

Ms. Sendall was awarded the YWCA Women of Distinction Award in 1998 and she was named one of Canada’s Most Powerful Women in the Corporate Executive category (2002-2006) by the Women’s Executive Network. In early 2006, Ms. Sendall was one of 50 women to receive the Key Women in Energy – Global Award. In 2006 she received the Champion of the Schulich School of Engineering, was the recipient of the Johnson Award from Queen’s University, and was named the Woman of Vision by Global TV. In 2007, Ms Sendall received the Women Who Make a Difference award from the International Women’s Forum and was inducted into Canada’s Most Powerful Women, Top 100 Hall of Fame. Ms. Sendall is a Member of the Order of Canada.

Ms. Sendall graduated from Queen’s University in 1977 with a Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Mechanical Engineering, and attended the Ivey Executive Program at the Ivey School of Business in 1990.

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

Other work in R&D:

The 2010 federal panel, chaired by Mr. Tom Jenkins, launched its report in October 2011, providing recommendations to the Government of Canada on how it can maximize the impact of the $7 billion it spends annually in support of business and commercially-oriented R&D.

The work of the federal panel focused on the effectiveness of federal programs whereas the Council’s expert panel will assess the overall state of industrial R&D in Canada.

Review of Federal Support to Research and Development

Kathleen E. Sendall, C.M., MACG

Administratrice de CGG Veritas (Paris, France); administratrice d’Enmax Corporation (Calgary, AB); vice-présidente d’Alberta Innovates – Solutions Énergétiques et Environnementales (Calgary, AB);  membre du conseil d’administration, Fondation des Prix Ernest C. Manning; membre du Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable (CCDD) et du Conseil consultatif pour la présence des femmes aux conseils d’administration des entreprises, du gouvernement du Canada (Calgary, AB)

Kathleen Sendall est une administratrice de CGG, une compagnie générale en géophysique bien connue à l’échelle internationale; une administratrice d’Enmax Corporation, une société de services publics intégrée verticalement dont le siège social est situé à Calgary, en Alberta; et une administratrice et la vice-présidente de Alberta Innovates – Energy and Environment Solutions. En outre, elle a été la coprésidente du Groupe de travail de la Asia-Pacific/Canada West Foundation sur les enjeux énergétiques au Canada et en Asie-Pacifique et les possibilités qui en découlent.

Mme Sendall avait auparavant occupé le poste de vice-présidente principale de l’Unité commerciale du gaz naturel en Amérique du Nord chez Petro-Canada; à ce titre, elle était responsable de la production et de l’exploration gazières et pétrolières conventionnelles en Amérique du Nord. Elle a acquis une grande expérience à titre d’administratrice et grâce à son engagement dans des conseils d’administration d’organismes sans but lucratif. Mme Sendall a été présidente et administratrice de l’Académie canadienne du génie, de même que présidente du conseil d’administration de la Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP). Elle a siégé au conseil des gouverneurs de l’Université de Calgary et est une ancienne présidente du chapitre calgarien du International Women’s Forum.

Mme Sendall a reçu le prix Femme de mérite (1998) du YWCA et a été nommée au palmarès des femmes les plus influentes du Canada (catégorie Cadre d’entreprise, 2002-2006) du Women’s Executive Network. Au début de 2006, Mme Sendall a été l’une des 50 femmes à mériter le prix Key Women in Energy – Global Award. En 2006, elle a été championne de l’École d’ingénieurs Schulich, récipiendaire du prix Johnson décerné par l’Université Queen’s, et récipiendaire du prix Woman of Vision de Global TV. En 2007, Mme Sendall a reçu le prix Women Who Make a Difference décerné par l’International Women’s Forum et a été intronisée à l’Ordre du mérite des 100 femmes les plus influentes du Canada. Mme Sendall est membre de l’Ordre du Canada.

Mme Sendall est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences (spécialisation) en génie mécanique conféré en 1977 par l’Université Queen’s, et a suivi le programme pour cadres de la Ivey School of Business en 1990.

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire

Autres travaux en R D :

Un comité fédéral présidé par M. Tom Jenkins devrait publier en octobre 2011 son rapport, dans lequel il fera au gouvernement du Canada des recommandations sur la manière de tirer le meilleur parti possible des 7 milliards de dollars dépensés chaque année pour soutenir la R D orientée vers le commerce et les entreprises.

Les travaux du comité fédéral mettront l’accent sur l’efficacité des programmes fédéraux, alors que le comité d’experts du CAC évaluera l’état général de la R D industrielle au Canada.

Examen du soutien fédéral de la recherche-développement