Health Product Risk Communication: Is the Message Getting Through?

Risk communication is an important component of improving the health and safety of Canadians. Effective risk communication can protect Canadians from preventable hazards such as medication side effects or errors, product defects, and uncertainties surrounding particular drugs. Pressures on governments for greater openness and transparency in their communication efforts are increasing. There have also been a number of reviews calling for evaluation and improved timeliness, outreach, and accessibility of communications.

Recognizing the importance of continual improvement, Health Canada asked the Council to examine how the effectiveness of health product risk communications can be measured and evaluated.  

Health Product Risk Communication: Is the Message Getting Through? synthesizes the available evidence on risk communication, health product risk communication tools, evaluation methods, and barriers and facilitators to effective communication and successful evaluation activities. It is intended primarily as a tool to inform evaluation and decision-making within government departments and agencies responsible for risk communication and interested in improving their efforts. The report may also be of interest to Canadians as they seek to remain informed about how to best communicate, interpret, and understand the risks associated with health products. 

Ultimately, evaluation is essential to determine if health product risk communications are effective. Without adequate evaluation, not only is there potential for mistakes, but there is also the risk of missing opportunities to continue to build on proven successes.

Key Findings

  • Recognition of the importance of dialogue and ongoing relationships is prompting a paradigm shift for risk communication.
  • Regulators around the world use similar health product risk communication tools that are not systematically evaluated.
  • Evaluation is an integral part of risk communication and can be supported with institutional commitment and sufficient resources.
  • Careful planning determines relevant evaluation questions, which guide evaluation methods. 

Question

How can the effectiveness of health risk communications be measured and evaluated?

Report and Related Products:

Expert Panel

The Expert Panel on Effectiveness of Health Product Risk Communication was chaired by Annette O'Connor, FRSC, FCAHS, Distinguished Professor, Professor Emerita, School of Nursing, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Ottawa. For a complete list of panel members visit the Expert Panel on the Effectiveness of Health Product Risk Communication page.

For further information, please contact: 

Andrew Taylor, Program Director, at 613-567-5000 ext. 263 or andrew.taylor@scienceadvice.ca

For media inquiries, pleast contact:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Communications and Publishing Director, at 613-567-5000 ext. 256 or samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

DOWNLOAD THE REPORT

Communication des risques pour les produits de santé : Le message passe-t-il?

La communication des risques est un aspect important de l’amélioration de la santé et de la sécurité des Canadiens. Une communication efficace des risques peut protéger les Canadiens contre des risques évitables tels que les effets secondaires des médicaments, les erreurs, les défectuosités des produits et les incertitudes liées à certains médicaments particuliers. Les pressions qui s’exercent sur les gouvernements pour une ouverture et une transparence accrues dans leurs efforts de communication s’intensifient. Divers examens ont aussi préconisé une évaluation et une amélioration de la rapidité, du rayonnement et de l’accessibilité des communications.  

Reconnaissant l’importance d’une amélioration continue, Santé Canada a demandé au Conseil des académies canadiennes d’évaluer comment l’efficacité de la communication des risques inhérents aux produits de santé peut être mesurée et évaluée.  

Communication des risques pour les produits de santé : Le message passe-t-il? synthétise les données disponibles sur la communication des risques, les outils de communication des risques liés aux produits de santé, les méthodes d’évaluation, de même que les obstacles à une communication efficace et à des activités d’évaluation fructueuses et les facteurs propices à celles-ci. Il vise principalement à éclairer l’évaluation et la prise de décision dans les ministères et les organismes gouvernementaux responsables de la communication des risques et qui sont intéressés à améliorer leurs efforts. Le rapport peut aussi susciter l’intérêt des Canadiens qui cherchent à demeurer informés quant à la meilleure façon de communiquer, d’interpréter et de comprendre les risques associés aux produits de santé.

En définitive, l’évaluation est essentielle pour déterminer si les communications axées sur les risques inhérents aux produits de santé sont efficaces. Sans évaluation adéquate, non seulement est-il possible de commettre des erreurs, mais il y a aussi le risque de rater des occasions de poursuivre ou de déployer à plus grande échelle des succès éprouvés.

Principales constatations

  • La reconnaissance de l’importance du dialogue et de relations continues suscite un changement de paradigme pour la communication des risques.
  • Les responsables de la réglementation à travers le monde utilisent des outils similaires pour communiquer les risques liés aux produits de santé, mais ceux-ci ne sont pas systématiquement évalués.
  • L’évaluation fait partie intégrante de la communication des risques et peut être appuyée par un engagement institutionnel et des ressources suffisantes.
  • Une planification minutieuse précise les questions d’évaluation pertinentes, qui guident ensuite les méthodes d’évaluation.

Question

Comment peut-on mesurer et évaluer l’efficacité de la communication des risques pour la santé?

Rapports et autres produits :

Comité d’experts

Le comité d’experts sur l’efficacité de la communication des risques pour les produits de santé était presidé par Annette O’Connor, MSRC, MACSS, professeure distinguée, professeure émérite, École des sciences infirmières, Faculté des sciences de la santé, Université d’Ottawa. Pour consulter la liste complète des membres du comité, visitez la page du comité d’experts sur l’efficacité de la communication des risques pour les produits de santé.

Pour plus de renseignements, ou pour les médias sociaux, veuillez communiquer avec :

Samantha Rae Ayoub, directrice des communications et des publications, au 613 567-5000 poste 256 ou samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire

Téléchargez ce rapport