Innovation Management Training

Innovation, Science and Economic Development (ISED) Canada has asked the Council of Canadian Academies (CCA) to undertake a workshop assessment on innovation management training.

The Questions

The following questions will help to guide the facilitated workshop:

  • What are the management skills required to ensure innovative corporate culture?
  • What are some of the leading practices in teaching those skills?
  • How have the learning experiences offered by Canadian business school evolved over the last decade, for students and business managers, younger and older, to incorporate the management of innovation?
  • How do the programs and experiences provided in Canadian business schools compare with other innovative countries and what are some promising initiatives that could be adopted in Canadian business schools?
  • What is the role of other faculties in enhancing an innovation culture and how do business schools integrate these efforts into their programs?

Progress Report

The Steering Committee on Innovation Management Training held a teleconference on May 31, 2018. During the call, they considered the results from the peer review process, deliberated on the report’s findings and conclusions, and tasked CCA staff with implementing these changes. The Steering Committee will meet again via teleconference to sign off on the final draft of the report. The final report is expected to be released in late 2018.

Background

A two-day workshop was held in Toronto, Ontario from January 18 to 19 on innovation management training. It was guided by the Workshop Steering Committee, and attended by 15 Workshop Participants. The main goal of the workshop was to develop an evidence base on how to best teach innovation management skills.

The focal point of the workshop was on the teaching practices offered by business schools, both in Canada and internationally, and how this corresponds to the demand for innovation management skills in the private sector.

Workshop Steering Committee Members

To lead the development of the workshop and complete the necessary background research, the CCA appointed a five-member Steering Committee, chaired by John R. McDougall, FCAE, President, DALCOR Innoventures Ltd., and former President of the National Research Council of Canada. The other Steering Committee members are: Deborah Ancona, Seley Distinguished Professor of Management, Professor of Organization Studies, and Director, MIT Leadership Center at MIT Sloan School of Management; Colleen Collins, Vice-President, Canada West Foundation; C. Brooke Dobni, Professor of Management, Edwards School of Business, University of Saskatchewan; and Laurent Simon, Full Professor, Entrepreneurship and Innovation Department, HEC Montréal.

Workshop Participants

Workshop attendees participated in a two-day discussion to respond to the charge set out by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED). The participants were experts and leaders in management research, education, and industrial practice. For a complete list of participants, visit the Workshop Participants page.

For further information, please contact:

Joe Rowsell, Project Manager at 613-567-5000 ext. 253 or joe.rowsell@scienceadvice.ca  

For media inquiries, please contact:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Communications and Publishing Director at 613-567-5000 ext. 256 or samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

Formation en gestion de l'innovation

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique (ISDE) Canada a demandé au Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC) d’organiser un atelier pour évaluer la formation en gestion de l’innovation.

Les questions

Les questions suivantes aideront à orienter l’atelier facilité :

  • Quelles compétences de gestion sont essentielles pour établir et maintenir une culture d’innovation en entreprise?
  • Quelles sont quelques-unes des principales méthodes d’enseignement utilisées pour inculquer ces compétences?
  • Comment les expériences d’apprentissage offertes par les écoles canadiennes de gestion ont-elles évolué au cours de la dernière décennie, pour les étudiants et les gestionnaires d’entreprises, jeunes et moins jeunes, en matière d’intégration de la gestion de l’innovation?
  • Comment les programmes et les expériences fournies par les écoles canadiennes de gestion se comparent-ils avec ce qui est offert dans les autres pays innovants et quelles sont quelques-unes des initiatives prometteuses qui pourraient être adoptées par les écoles canadiennes de gestion?
  • Quel rôle peuvent jouer les autres facultés dans l’amélioration de la culture d’innovation et comment les écoles de gestion intègrent-elles ces efforts dans leurs programmes?

Stade d’avancement de l’atelier

Le 31 mai 2018, les membres du comité directeur sur la formation en gestion de l’innovation se sont réunis par téléconférence. Lors de cet appel, ils ont constaté les résultats du processus d’examen par les pairs, ont discuté des constatations et conclusions du rapport et ont chargé le personnel du CAC d’apporter les derniers changements au rapport. Ils se réuniront de nouveau par téléconférence afin d’approuver la version finale du rapport. Le rapport devrait être publié à la fin de 2018.

Contexte

Un atelier de deux jours a été tenu les 18 et 19 janvier à Toronto, Ontario, sur la formation en gestion de l’innovation. Il était guidé par le comité directeur de l’atelier et 15 experts y ont participé. Le principal objectif de l’atelier était de réunir les données probantes sur les meilleures façons d’inculquer des compétences en gestion de l’innovation.

L’atelier avait comme objectif d’explorer les méthodes d’enseignement pratiquées dans les écoles de gestion canadiennes et étrangères et d’évaluer dans quelle mesure ces méthodes répondent aux besoins du secteur privé relatif aux compétences en gestion de l’innovation.

Le comité directeur de l’atelier

Pour diriger l’organisation de cet atelier et réaliser les recherches préliminaires nécessaires, le CAC a constitué un comité directeur de cinq membres, présidé par John R. McDougall, FACG, président de DALCOR Innoventures Ltd. et ancien président du Conseil national de recherches du Canada. Les autres membres sont Deborah Ancona, professeure émérite en gestion Seley, professeure en études des organisations et directrice du Leadership Center à la Sloan School of Management du MIT; Colleen Collins, vice-présidente, Canada West Foundation; C. Brooke Dobni, professeur en gestion, Edwards School of Business, Université de la Saskatchewan; et Laurent Simon, professeur titulaire, Département d'entrepreneuriat et d'innovation, HEC Montréal.

Participants à l'atelier

Les participants à l’atelier ont tenu une discussion de deux jours en réponse au mandat confié par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE). Les participants étaient des experts et des chefs de file en recherche, en enseignement et en pratique industrielle en matière de gestion. Pour la liste complète des participants, visitez la page des Participants à l’atelier.

Pour plus d’information, veuillez contacter :

Joe Rowsell, chargé de projets au 613 567-5000 poste 253 ou joe.rowsell@scienceadvice.ca  

Les demandes des médias peuvent être transmises à :

Samantha Rae Ayoub, directrice des communications et des publications au 613 567-5000 poste 256 ou samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

 

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire