Medical Assistance in Dying

In December 2016, the CCA was asked by Minister of Health Jane Philpott and Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada Jody Wilson-Raybould to undertake independent reviews related to medical assistance in dying. Specifically, the CCA is tasked with examining three particularly complex types of requests for medical assistance in dying that were identified for further review and study in the legislation passed by Parliament in 2016. These cases are: requests by mature minors, advance requests, and requests where mental illness is the sole underlying medical condition. 

Progress Report

The Working Groups on Advance Requests and Mature Minors met in person on July 9 to 10 and 12 to 13, 2017 respectively. The Working Group on Mental Illness met on August 14 to 15, 2017. At this point in the process, the Working Groups continue to review the existing evidence and identify where additional evidence or information needs to be collected. To inform its deliberations, the Expert Panel on Medical Assistance in Dying (MAID) is seeking input in writing from groups and organizations affected by, or involved in, MAID from across Canada via a Call for Input. The closing date for submissions is October 6, 2017.
 
The Working Groups are also in the process of completing first drafts of each of the three reports. The next full panel meeting will take place in November.

The Expert Panel on Medical Assistance in Dying (MAID) met November 21 to 22, 2017 for its third panel meeting. The Working Groups reviewed and discussed the initial drafting of evidence for their respective review areas, and in plenary, discussed the submissions received via the Call for Input. The next panel meeting will take place February 21 to 22, 2018 at which time the panel will be reviewing and further developing the revised draft reports prior to peer review which will take place in spring 2018. Reports are on track to be publicly released towards the end of 2018.

The Questions

Main Question:

  • What is the available evidence on, and how does it inform our understanding of, medical assistance in dying (MAID) in the case of mature minors, advance requests, and where mental illness is the sole underlying medical condition, given the clinical, legal, cultural, ethical, and historical context in Canada?

The general sub-questions and topic area questions can be found here.

Expert Panel

The Expert Panel on Medical Assistance in Dying is comprised of 44 individuals who have expertise, knowledge, and leadership experience in many disciplines including law, medicine, ethics, social sciences, and health sciences, among others. The Expert Panel is chaired by the Honourable Marie Deschamps, C.C., Ad. E., Former Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada and Adjunct Professor, McGill University and Université de Sherbrooke. 

In order to effectively address the three types of requests for medical assistance in dying, the Expert Panel has been divided into three working groups, each with a Chair.

For a complete list of panel members visit the Expert Panel page.

For questions about these reviews:

reviews@scienceadvice.ca

All media requests may be directed to:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Communications and Publishing Director at 613-567-5000 ext. 256 or
samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

Aide médicale à mourir

En décembre 2016, la ministre de la Santé, Mme Jane Philpott, et la ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada, Mme Jody Wilson-Raybould, ont demandé au CAC d’entreprendre des examens indépendants liés à l’aide médicale à mourir. Le CAC a plus précisément été chargé d’examiner trois types de demandes d’aide médicale à mourir particulièrement complexes qui, selon la loi adoptée par le Parlement en 2016, mériteraient un examen et une étude plus approfondis. Ces cas sont : les demandes faites par des mineurs matures, les demandes anticipées et les demandes se rapportant à des situations où la maladie mentale est le seul problème de santé sous-jacent.

Stade d’avancement de l’évaluation

Les groupes de travail sur les demandes anticipées et sur les mineurs matures se sont réunis en personne les 9 et 10 juillet et les 12 et 13 juillet 2017 respectivement. Le groupe de travail sur les maladies mentales s’est réuni les 14 et 15 août 2017. À ce stade du processus, les groupes de travail continuent d’examiner les données probantes disponibles et s’emploient à déterminer quelles autres données ou informations devraient être recueillies. Pour éclairer ses délibérations, le comité d’experts sur l’aide médicale à mourir (AMM) a demandé, par le biais d’un appel à contribution, à des groupes et organismes d’un bout à l’autre du Canada touchés par l’AMM ou y participant de lui faire part par écrit de leur point de vue. La date limite fixée pour participer à la consultation était le 6 octobre 2017. La prochaine réunion plénière du comité d’experts aura lieu en novembre. Le comité d’experts mènera ses travaux en 2018 et publiera son rapport vers la fin de cette même année. 

Les questions

De quelles données probantes disposons-nous et que nous indiquent-elles relativement aux demandes d’aide médicale à mourir (AMM) faites par des mineurs matures, aux demandes anticipées et aux demandes se rapportant à des situations où la maladie mentale est le seul problème de santé sous-jacent, compte tenu du contexte clinique, juridique, culturel, éthique et historique qui existe au Canada?

Les sous-questions générales et les questions s'appliquant à chacun des trois domaines examinés de trouvent ici.

Contexte

Le comité d’experts du CAC sur l’aide médicale à mourir est composé de 44 membres qui ont une expertise, des connaissances et de l’expérience de direction dans un éventail de disciplines, dont le droit, la médecine, l’éthique, les sciences sociales et les sciences de la santé. Le comité d’experts sera présidé par l’honorable Marie Deschamps, C.C. Ad. E., ex-juge de la Cour suprême du Canada et professeure associée, Université McGill et Université de Sherbrooke. 

Pour traiter de manière efficace les trois types de demandes d’aide médicale à mourir, le comité d’experts sera subdivisé en trois groupes de travail, chacun dirigé par un président ou une présidente.

Pour une liste complète des membres du comité d’experts et pour consulter leur biographie, visitez la page du comité d’experts.

Pour des questions concernant ces examens :

reviews@scienceadvice.ca

Toutes les demandes des médias peuvent être transmises à :

Samantha Rae Ayoub
Directrices des communications et des publications, Conseil des académies canadiennes
samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca
613 567-5000 poste 256

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire