Andrew Sharpe

Executive Director, Centre for the Study of Living Standards
Ottawa, ON

Dr. Andrew Sharpe is founder and Executive Director of the Ottawa-based Centre for the Study of Living Standards (CSLS). He has held a variety of earlier positions, including Head of Research at the Canadian Labour Market and Productivity Centre and Chief, Business Sector Analysis at the Department of Finance.

Dr. Sharpe is a founder and past editor of the journal Canadian Business Economics, and founder and editor since 2000 of the International Productivity Monitor. He is the Chair of Statistics Canada's Advisory Committee on Services Statistics and a member of a number of additional advisory committees, including the OECD Expert Advisory Committee on Productivity Levels; the OECD Expert Committee on Measuring the Progress of Societies, Statistics Canada’s Advisory Committee on Non-profit Institutions and Volunteering; and the Editorial Boards of the Review of Income and Wealth, Social Indicators Research, Applied Research in Quality of Life and the Journal of Socio-Economics.

Dr. Sharpe holds a M.A. and Ph.D. in economics from McGill University, a maitrise in urban geography from the Université de Paris-Sorbonne, and a B.A. from the University of Toronto. He has taught at Champlain College (Lennoxville Campus), Université de Sherbrooke, McGill University, and the University of Ottawa. Dr. Sharpe is also Executive Director of the International Association for Research on Income and Wealth, an international research association dedicated to the advancement of knowledge relating to income and wealth.

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Council Feature

New CCA Report on Transportation Needs of an Aging Population

Long lineups, poor signage, and garbled announcements over a loudspeaker can be a nuisance for any traveller. But for ol...
read more

Andrew Sharpe

Directeur exécutif, Centre d’étude des niveaux de vie à Ottawa (Ont.)

Andrew Sharpe est le fondateur et directeur exécutif du Centre d’étude des niveaux de vie établi à Ottawa. Il a occupé auparavant plusieurs postes, dont celui de directeur de la recherche du Centre canadien du marché du travail et de la productivité et chef de la section de l’analyse du secteur des entreprises au ministère des Finances.

Fondateur et ancien rédacteur en chef de la revue Canadian Business Economics, il a fondé en 2000 L’Observateur international de la productivité, dont il est le rédacteur en chef. Il est président du Comité consultatif de la statistique des services de Statistique Canada, et membre de nombreux autres comités consultatifs, dont le comité consultatif d’experts de l’OCDE sur les niveaux de productivité, le comité d’experts de l’OCDE sur la mesure du progrès des sociétés, et le comité consultatif de Statistique Canada sur les organismes sans but lucratif et le bénévolat. Il est membre du comité de rédaction de diverses publications, notamment Review of Income and Wealth, Social Indicators Research, Applied Research in Quality of Life et Journal of Socio-Economics.

M. Sharpe est titulaire d’une maîtrise et d’un doctorat en économique de l’Université McGill, d’une maîtrise en géographie urbaine de l’Université de Paris-Sorbonne et d’un baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université de Toronto. Il a enseigné au Champlain College (campus de Lennoxville), à l’Université de Sherbrooke, à l’Université McGill et à l’Université d’Ottawa. Il est également directeur général de l’Association internationale de recherches sur le revenu et la fortune, organisme de recherche international voué à l’avancement des connaissances sur le revenu et la richesse.

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
En vedette

La sécurité alimentaire dans le Nord du Canada

Il est bien connu que dans le Nord du Canada, l’insécurité alimentaire constitue un problème ...
détails