John Thompson

Chairman, TD Financial Bank Group
Toronto, ON

John M. Thompson is Chairman of the Board of The Toronto-Dominion Bank. He is the retired Vice Chairman of the IBM Board of Directors, where he was responsible for IBM's business strategy and oversight of the company's worldwide technology and manufacturing direction.

Mr. Thompson began his IBM career in Canada as a systems engineer in 1966. There, he held a variety of management jobs, before being elected President and Chief Executive Officer of IBM Canada, Ltd. in 1986. In January 1991, Thompson moved to the USA to become Corporate Vice President of Marketing, charged with developing IBM's strategy for entering the services business. In October 1993, he became Senior Vice President of IBM's Server Group; served as Senior Vice President responsible for forming IBM's Software Group from 1995 to 2000; and in August 2000 was elected Vice Chairman of the IBM Board.

Mr. Thompson is a past director of the Conference Board of Canada and of the Canadian Council of Chief Executives (formerly the Canadian Business Council for National Issues). He chaired the Advisory Board of the University of Western Ontario's Engineering School and the University's Renaissance Capital Campaign. He has been a member of the Corporate Higher Education Forum and served on three Premier of Ontario's Councils, human resources reform and industrial policy.

Mr. Thompson holds a degree in Engineering Science from the University of Western Ontario and completed executive management programs at the Richard Ivey School at The University of Western Ontario and the Kellogg Graduate School of Business at Northwestern University. He has recently been appointed Chancellor of the University of Western Ontario.

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Council Feature

Expert Spotlight: Max Blouw

Dr. Max Blouw is Former President and Vice-Chancellor of Wilfrid Laurier University (WLU). Prior to joining WLU, he was...
read more

John Thompson

Président du conseil d’administration, Groupe Financier Banque TD à Toronto (Ont.)

John M. Thompson est président du conseil de la Banque Toronto-Dominion. Il a pris sa retraite de son poste de vice-président du conseil d’administration d’IBM Corporation, où il était chargé de superviser les stratégies mondiales de l’entreprise dans les secteurs de la technologie, de la fabrication et des affaires.

M. Thompson a amorcé sa carrière à IBM Canada en 1966 en tant qu’ingénieur des systèmes. Au cours des années suivantes, il a occupé divers postes de direction avant d’être élu président et chef de la direction d’IBM Canada ltée en 1986. En janvier 1991, il a déménagé aux États-Unis afin d’occuper le poste de vice-président du groupe Marketing d’IBM. Il a alors dirigé l’élaboration de la stratégie qui a permis à IBM de faire son entrée dans le secteur des services professionnels. En octobre 1993, il est devenu premier vice-président de la Division des serveurs informatiques d’IBM. De 1995 à 2000, il a occupé le poste de premier vice-président responsable de la mise sur pied du groupe Logiciels d’IBM, puis il a été élu vice-président du conseil d’administration d’IBM en août 2002.

M. Thompson a fait partie du conseil d’administration du Conference Board du Canada et du Conseil d’entreprises sur les questions d’intérêt national (aujourd’hui le Conseil canadien des chefs d’entreprise). Il a été président du conseil consultatif de l’École de génie et président de la Renaissance Capital Campaign de l’Université de Western Ontario. Enfin, il a été membre du Forum entreprises-universités et a siégé à trois conseils du premier ministre de l’Ontario portant, entre autres, sur la réforme des ressources humaines et la politique industrielle.

M. Thompson a obtenu un diplôme en génie de l’Université de Western Ontario. Il est également diplômé des programmes de gestion supérieure de la Richard Ivey School de l’Université de Western Ontario et de la Kellogg Graduate School of Business de la Northwestern University. Il a récemment été nommé chancelier de l’Université de Western Ontario.

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
En vedette

Expert en vedette : Max Blouw

Max Blouw est l’ancien recteur et vice-chancelier de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier. Il avait auparava...
détails