40 Priority Research Questions for Ocean Science in Canada

In March 2011 the Council of Canadian Academies was asked by the Canadian Consortium of Ocean Research Universities (CCORU) to undertake a two-part initiative on ocean science in Canada. The first phase was to identify priority research themes with the support of a Core Group of 22 ocean experts from Canada and abroad.  This activity culminated in the development of the workshop report, 40 Priority Research Questions for Ocean Science in Canada (PDF). The report was publicly released on July 17th, 2012.

Background

The world’s oceans are intrinsically important to Canada’s environment, culture, public health, economy and society. For a country as geographically large and diverse as Canada addressing the challenges of ocean science is complex and requires a high degree of coordination among scientific institutions and technology hubs. Therefore, a key challenge for Canada’s science community is determining strategic research priorities that will be of value to both those who conduct research and for those who use research.

The report, 40 Priority Research Questions for Ocean Science in Canada identifies 40 priority research questions that, if answered, would have the greatest impact on addressing future opportunities and challenges relating to ocean science in Canada. The 40 questions were developed in a collaborative, open and democratic process during a two-day workshop. 

 The 40 questions are grouped according to the following research themes:

  1. Improving fundamental scientific understanding
  2. Monitoring, data, and information management
  3. Understanding impacts of human activities
  4. Informing management and governance

The Council has now begun work on an in-depth, evidence-based assessment on ocean science. Information about this assessment can be found here.

The Core Group

The Core Group, chaired by David Fissel, Chair and Senior Scientist of ASL Environmental Sciences Inc., was comprised of researchers, policy-makers and industry representatives.

For additional information or media inquiries, please contact:

Samantha Rae Ayoub, Communications and Publishing Director at 613-567-5000 ext. 256 or
samantha.rae@scienceadvice.ca

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

Les 40 questions prioritaires pour la recherche canadienne en sciences de la mer

En mars 2011, le Consortium Canadien des universités de la recherche océanographique (CCURO) a demandé au CAC d’entreprendre une étude en deux phases sur les sciences de la mer au Canada. La première avait pour but de définir des thèmes de recherche prioritaires avec l’aide d’un groupe cadre de 22 experts canadiens et étrangers des sciences de la mer. Cette activité a abouti à la rédaction du rapport d’atelier, Les 40 questions prioritaires pour la recherche canadienne en sciences de la mer (PDF). Le rapport a été publié le 17 juillet 2012.

Contexte

Les océans de la planète ont une importance fondamentale pour l’environnement, la culture, la santé publique, l’économie et la société du Canada. Pour un pays à la géographie aussi vaste et diverse que celle du Canada, répondre aux défis reliés aux sciences de la mer est une tâche complexe qui nécessite un degré élevé de coordination entre les institutions scientifiques et les centres technologiques. Par conséquent, un des principaux défis pour le Canada consiste à établir les priorités stratégiques de recherche qui seront utiles tant à ceux qui font de la recherche qu’à ceux qui l’utilisent.

Le rapport Les 40 questions prioritaires pour la recherche canadienne en sciences de la mer présente 40 questions de recherche prioritaires qui, si elles trouvaient réponse, permettraient le mieux d’aborder les possibilités et les défis reliés aux sciences de la mer qui se présenteront au Canada. Les questions ont été définies dans le cadre d’un processus collaboratif, ouvert et démocratique au cours d’un atelier de deux jours. 

 Les 40 questions sont groupées sous quatre thèmes de recherche :

  1. Améliorer la compréhension scientifique fondamentale
  2. La surveillance, les données et la gestion de l’information
  3. Comprendre les incidences des activités humaines
  4. Éclairer les processus de gestion et de gouvernance

Le CAC a maintenant entrepris une évaluation approfondie et fondée sur des données probantes des sciences de la mer au Canada. Pour plus d’informations concernant cette évaluation, cliquez ici.

Le groupe cadre

Le groupe cadre, présidé par David Fissel, président et scientifique principal chez ASL Environmental Sciences Inc., était composé de chercheurs, de responsables des politiques et de représentants de l’industrie.

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire